Unesco World Heritage site

Experience the Dolomites UNESCO World Heritage Site

Distinguished Dolomiti Superski region

An impressive mountain range, with peaks more than 200 million years old. Once a giant coral reef in the primordial ocean, today the Dolomites tower 3,000 metres into the sky. But it’s not just the origins of the Italian mountains - declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2009 - that are impressive, but also the unique way the ski resorts have developed into the internationally renowned Dolomiti Superski region.

UNESCO World Heritage Site | Dolomiti Superski

What exactly is a UNESCO World Heritage site?

UNESCO has been creating World Heritage Sites since 1978, with some of the main criteria being globally important uniqueness, authenticity and integrity. Sites are put forward for the title by the respective countries. From the initial 12 World Heritage Sites, in 2018 they totalled 2,000, in more than 150 countries. A unique development of which the Dolomites is a small, but perfectly formed, part.

Why Dolomites? Did you know that the mountains were named after French geologist, Déodat de Dolomieu (1750–1801), who performed the first mineral and chemical analyses of the rocks in this special place.

Landscape of Alta Badia

Beautiful Italian mountains that deserve to be protected

Sublime, monumental, colourful landscapes as far as the eye can see. Sheer rock faces, dramatic bleached pinnacles and narrow valleys - the unique panorama of unusual shapes that make up the natural beauty of the Dolomites and that has fascinated travellers, artists and scientists since time immemorial. By the way, the World Heritage site’s nine subareas cover five Italian provinces, so the UNESCO Dolomites Foundation was established to facilitate more effective cooperation.

Go to the UNESCO website